Eugene

Eugene by J.R. Gregorevich

I created this piece while I was in college and it was basically inspired by the band Gogol Bordello. I wanted to capture the energy of their music, especially, the energy that Eugene Hutz has while performing.

The paper that I used was shitty as hell and I sort of wished I had better paper to emphasize more details especially in Eugenes face.

I remember going to their concert in the Bowery with a friend of mine and my brother, it was my first time seeing and/or hearing them. We went up to the balcony section and I remember Eugene walking pass us and I just felt this energy about him; something special that made him stand out,  maybe it was the huge beard he was rocking that night. They played a song called ‘Zina Marina’and he had these stilettos on and I remember just being in awe of his showmanship. Been a fan ever since that night.

One thought on “Eugene

Leave a comment